## Springfield Sports Club Inc / Fredericton Recreational Shooting Association

## Annual General Meeting Minutes October 17, 2011

**Present:** Board Members, President Greg Gilbert, Vice President Steven Stewart, Treasurer Tim Kairns, Directors-at-Large John Harper, Laurence Gilbey,

Absent: Director-at-Large Bob Kierstead

Meeting began at 19:04 hrs with opening remarks and welcome from the President. The President announced a change to the agenda. The election of the new BOD's will occur after the reading of the 2010 AGM minutes and overall Financial Report from Tim Kairns. This change would allow more time for the counting of the election ballots while the other agenda items were being addressed during the meeting.

**Old Business:** 2010 AGM minutes were read by Greg Gilbert. A motion to accept was made by Ed Rowlinson and seconded by Murray Watt. 2010 AGM minutes were approved and passed

## **New Business:**

- Financial Status Report was presented by Tim Kairns. This was a positive report and included that our 4 year endeavour to pay off our debt would be achieved with a final \$3000 payment. Motion to accept financial report made by Jerry Conroy and seconded by Brock Davidge. Motion passed.
- Membership Report was presented by Tim Kairns. Presently at 206 members. 19 of these
  members have joined under the Fall / O'Dell Gun show rate and therefore are already paid up
  members for 2012. Motion to accept membership report made by Roger Tremblay and
  seconded by Christian Jacques. Motion passed.
- 3. The election of the new Board of Directors commenced with the President Greg Gilbert calling 3 times if there were any further nominations from the floor standing for election. There were no further nominations. The list of candidates for election was read by Greg Gilbert. They were; Glenn Abbott, Dan Chisholm, Greg Gilbert, Laurence Gilbey, John Harper, Gord Holloway, Tim Kairns, Robert Kierstead, Mike Partridge, & Steven Stewart. Each candidate then spoke briefly to introduce themselves to the members. Steven Stewart circulated the ballots. The results were, elected; Glen Abbott, Greg Gilbert, Laurence Gilbey, John Harper, Tim Kairns, Robert Kierstead, Mike Partridge, & Steven Stewart.
- 4. President's report. Greg Gilbert presented the President's report highlighting the Club's activities over the past year and planned activities for the future. A motion to accept the President's report was made by Dan Chisholm and seconded by John Wetmore. Motion was passed.
- 5. The 2011 Club Raffle draw was held. Winner was Murray Watt.
- 6. Proposed Budget for 2012 was presented by Tim Kairns. This included \$9,000 more to be spent on infrastructure maintenance, new construction and repairs. Items noted were another covered firing point, extension of sideberms and improving drainage. The proposed budget for 2012 included a motion made by Tim Kairns and seconded by Ed Rowlinson that membership fees for 2012 remain the same at \$150. Motion was passed.

7. Next AGM in 2012. Greg Gilbert made a motion that next year's AGM be held on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Monday in October 2012. Motion was seconded by Christian Jacques. Motion passed.

## New Business from the floor:

- Dan Chisholm asked if there was any interest from the members present in learning more about and participating in Long Range Shooting. Based on the positive response from members present Dan will endeavour to organize something for this type of shooting this coming year.
- 2. From the floor, there was a general discussion on new member orientation and what more can be done to assist members with range protocols, and usage layout etc. It was pointed out that news signs being posted at each range will improve this information.

Meeting Closed at 20:52 hrs.